i hope

Listen on iTunes


For his fourth self-released album, Dan enlisted the services of Mark Nevers as producer and Tony Crow as musical director and band leader. Mark is known for his work with Lambchop, The Silver Jews, Candi Staton, Will Oldham, Andrew Bird, Bobby Bare and Charlie Louvin. Tony is a talented keyboardist and arranger who has also worked with Lambchop and The Silver Jews, among many others.

Tony and Dan selected ten songs from Dan's extensive catalog and the two worked out arrangements. The focus was traditional country. Mark hired the band, which consisted of Chip Young on acoustic guitar, William Tyler on electric guitar, Brian Kotzur on drums, Dennis Crouch on acoustic bass and Tony on piano. The sessions were conducted at Mark's studio in Nashville, Beech House Recording, in January of 2006.

Additional musicians and singers included Jim Hoke, Pete Finney, Caroline Peyton, Melissa Mathes, Carey Kotsionis, Levi Sims and Adele Tyler.